My new haircut

Before you ask, no I am not popping my collar and demanding jager bombs. I will always leave that for this guy:

But I did get a haircut yesterday.

I tend to only cut my hair once or twice a year, not because I’m lazy, but rather because I live in fairytale land.

I’ve always wanted to be able to pull off really long, pretty hair but it just won’t happen. It’s mainly my fault, because I dislike actually doing my hair. When my hair gets past my shoulders I turn into 90% of the long-hair female population and throw it in a ponytail.

On Tuesday I was at work, and found myself staring at a poster of a VS model (the store is covered in them..works wonders for the self-esteem) and realized I was being dumb. No matter how long my hair is I will never be a supermodel OR Bollywood actress (which is even more heartbreaking) so no need for Rapunzel-like locks.

Plus I look better in shorter hair.

I went to a new salon ( I had a prepaid certificate, woo!) and showed the lady this picture:

Except I can't have bangs because I have a tiny forehead. Thanks for reminding me.

I went on and on about how I didn’t want this exact cut but I liked the length and the way her layers look, so could she do something like this that would work with my face shape (kinda round) and hair type (super thick)?

You know what homegirl says to me?

“Honey, I don’t know if this blonde is right for you.”

Um, what?

Who said anything about blonde? At what point did I mention hair color into this? Is she crazy? Does she think I’m crazy? Why would I want to be blonde?

And more importantly, if “this blonde isn’t right” for me, exactly what type of blonde is?

DOES SHE NOT SEE THAT I’M BROWN?!

Sigh. I had to calmly and not sarcastically tell her that I wasn’t interested in a new hair color, and just wanted a cut similar to the picture.

Maybe this is why I don’t get my hair cut that often.

I saved my head from a bottle of peroxide this time, but who knows what might happen six months from now when I (once again) realize I won’t be walking down a runway anytime soon.

Excuse the tooly-ness. Taking self-portraits in a bathroom will do that to a person.

Can you imagine this head being blonde? Ridiculous.

 

2 responses to “My new haircut

  1. lol you would make a sexy blond! what a goober.

Leave a Reply

