Bucket List: Start a Book Club

Did you see my new “bucket list” page up there? Go go go!

Fun, right? I highly recommend creating one for yourself. If for no other reason, at least do it because making lists are fun.

However another good reason is that putting it down on paper (or computer screen?) forces you to think about it and figure out how to make it a reality. Which is what I am in the process of doing right now.

Which is where y’all come in.

Ready for this?

I want to start a book club (# 16). And I want you to be a part of it.

Source

You: “But Mansee! We don’t even live in the same city, how can we be in a book club together?”

Me: “Oh did I forget to mention it would be a virtual book club?”

You: “Genius.”

Me: “Thanks, I thought so too.”

Made up conversations are always fun.

But seriously, I think this could work. I’ve always wanted to be a part of a book club/start one of my own, but never really went for it. And sadly, I rarely read for fun in college. I mean, I tried. But it was so hard between work, the newspaper, internships, eating crappy food, studying, etc.

Okay, maybe I drank a little. Fine, a lot. What of it?

Ugh, stop judging me! All the cool kids were doing it.

Anywho, I never got around to that book club. Now seems like a perfect time, but I have one tiny little problem.

My friends are all over the place! Austin, San Antonio, Houston, Ohio, California, New York, India (!). So obviously a monthly get-together at my house is out of the question.

That’s when it hit me! The idea, not my house. Ouch.

A virtual book club. Obviously we would all read the same book in the alotted amount of time (I’m thinking a month, since most of you have real lives/careers) and get together to talk about it. BUT our “get togethers” would be different.

Here are my ideas so far:

1. Everybody emails me what they thought of the book and I’ll put the responses up in a post. Then we can agree/disagree/talk about it in the comments section.

OR

2. We have a Twitter meet-up. All we have to do is pick a time, hashtag and Tweet away!

OR

3. Skype. Enough said.

OR

4. Any other ideas y’all might have!

Obviously anybody in Austin will always be welcome to come to my house and we can talk about the book here (wine and food included!), but the beauty of this is that we don’t have to all be in Austin!

I’m right in the middle of a job search and I honestly don’t know where I’ll end up. As much as I want to be somewhere new and meet new people, I don’t want to lose any of my friends or readers. In my mind, a virtual book club would be a fun way to stay in touch, as well as meet new people!

So, what do you think? Pleeeeease comment and let me know if you would be interested, or even if you think I’m stupid and you’re never going to read my blog again. I’d like to know.

And if this doesn’t work out, I’ll just go back to reading on my couch by myself and talking to my dog about it. Wine and food included.

6 responses to “Bucket List: Start a Book Club

  1. i would like to join your virtual book club. if school is especially busy, i will just have to read as much as i can and/or opt out of that month’s discussion. please accept me into your virtual literary world. how are you going to pick the books?

    • Not sure yet, I’ll have to figure out what everybody likes and go from there. After I see how many people want to join, I was thinking each person could have a turn in picking a book!

      And as far as school goes, obviously there is no pressure to finish if you have a lot going on. You can still check out the discussion and chime in whenever it works for you 🙂

  2. if you pick cool books – i’ll totally be in your book club!

  3. Good luck on your Bucket list. I look forward to hearing all about your accomplishments!

Leave a Reply

