Virtual Book Club: Book picks!

From here on out, Virtual Book Club will be referred to as VBC. This is because my fingers are as lazy as the rest of my body, and typing it all out would just be too much.

Anywho, I’m here today to present to you our first book!

*insert excited screams here*

I thought about this long and hard, and came to the conclusion that I don’t like making this decision. So next time, one of you are picking. Got that? Good.

I actually have two to present today. Which mean you guys will be picking what we read anyway. Ha!

So since we’re all girls here (for now!) I picked girly books. I figured for the first read, we wouldn’t want anything too heavy or ridiculous. Plus, I know a couple of you are deep into school right now (grad school to be specific) and you probably don’t want anything that’s going to make you want to shove your head in a wall.

Or was that just me in school?

You’ve got two memoirs to choose from. I love memoirs because I love reading about real people who turned their life into a story. It amazes me.

So first up is the book I told y’all in the last post. I actually wasn’t thinking of using it, but then Jess mentioned we should so I figured I’d give you guys the option.

Like I said before, it’s a sweet story about how the author (Elizabeth Bard) fell in love with a french man, moved to France and eventually married him. It’s super girly and a lot of it is based around food. Every chapter ends with a few recipes that have made an impact on her life and relationships.

My only issue with the book is that so far it hasn’t had that “can’t put it down” aspect to it that I crave from books. It is a wonderful story and well-written, but sometimes I feel like I’m reading it just to finish it. Make sense? However, I think some of you might like it, so it should be a possibility for sure.

The next one is by Jen Lancaster-aka my literary hero. I don’t know what that says about me, but I adore her.

I’ve read a couple of her other books, and I loved them. She’s insanely funny and has one of those “she said it, but everybody was thinking it” personalities. My Fair Lazy is about how she tries to become more cultural after realizing she’s a reality-show addict. Hi, pretty sure we can all relate to that a little bit. If you want to check out her writing style, read her blog http://www.jennsylvania.com. Seriously, I love her.

So there you go, leave a comment here (or on Facebook) and let me know what you want to read. Also, let me know how you think we should do the “get-together” part of this. I put up a few suggestions in my original VBC post, but if you have any ideas I want to hear them!

I want to give everybody about a month to read the book, so I’m thinking our first “meeting” should be around April 10. Again, let me know what y’all think.

I hope you guys are as excited as I am about this 🙂

P.S. If you’re just tuning in and want to join, please do! The more the merrier.

P.P.S. Tell your friends!

5 responses to “Virtual Book Club: Book picks!

  1. my fair lazy as well…yay vbc!

  2. I want in! And I agree with Katie.

  3. My Fair Lazy…I feel like I can relate more to this than the other book 🙂

Leave a Reply

