Music. Of the crappy variety.

Every time my brother comes to visit he asks me if I still listen to crappy music.

Part of me is offended.

The other part has been singing “Who says” by Selena Gomez nonstop for a week.

I don’t know why he gives me such grief over what I choose to listen to. I mean it can’t be because I forced my whole family to listen to NSYNC’s Christmas Album everyday for a month every.single.day, right?

By the way, that CD is totally missing and I’m completely sure a family member stole it. I need to hire a detective. Or make one of them buy me tickets to the NSYNC reunion concert that I dream about every night.

Seriously? That concert needs to happen, like yesterday.

I miss you...

Anywho, I know I have extremely mainstream tastes. And by that, I obviously mean I have the musical taste of a 13-year old girl who thinks she’s going to marry Justin Bieber.

Minus the marrying Justin Bieber part. I don’t want to marry him. That’s gross.

Sometimes I think my brother has a point, especially when my iPod goes from Celine Dion to Hairspray to Adele to Lil Wayne to Taylor Swift to Adam Lambert to the Jonas Brothers. But then I realize that having the Hannah Montana among Adele, Aerosmith and Mumford and Sons isn’t the worst thing in the world.

Yes, I said Hannah Montana. Not Miley Cyrus. The artist is literally Hannah Montana.

I realize I’ve probably lost 90 percent of my readership after that statement, and I’m okay with this. For the rest of you, just hang tight. I’m going to make this better.

Reasons why Hannah Montana belongs on my iPod:

  1. I’ll always have something in common with my niece. When she’s 12 and in love with the new heartthrob kid, I’ll be the one to take her to the concert because, obviously, I’ll want to go too. I’ll also be 33.
  2. I could chaperone a middle school dance and not want to blow my brains out. At least not because of the music. The kids might drive me to violence though.
  3. I can always find a radio station I’ll like. Mainly because Taylor Swift and/or Lil Wayne is played on all of them. I’m seriously waiting for those two to do a duet. The music world will officially explode, and I just can’t wait.
  4. I can always participate in a Disney sing-a-long. Believe me, this is a very good thing.
  5. When Justin Bieber rules the world (which he will) I know I’ll be safe. He would never hurt his fans. He told me so on Twitter.

I know there are more 24-year olds out there like me, but I understand if they are too embarrassed to speak up. Sometimes I’m embarrassed of myself.

That’s a lie. I’m not embarrassed. Sorry I’m not sorry.

Oh, and to answer my brother’s question: Yes, I still listen to crappy music. Love you too 🙂

5 responses to “Music. Of the crappy variety.

  1. Love that you are so fearless and not afraid to be who you are.

    I don’t consider any of my music guilty pleasures because I do not feel guilty for having any of it in my library. If I love it, it’s awesome, end of story. Mainstream or not, listen to what you love. The only people who are hating are the ones that are caught up with the facade of cool and that can’t admit that they like “nerdy/lame” things too!

    P.S. Let me be clear…the aforementioned statement was not a dig or slight to your brother, who I am sure is awesome too. 🙂 Rock on to Hannah Montana and Justin Beiber in SA!

    P.P.S. I may have downloaded over half of the Glee songs and I listen to them on repeat. I love them better than the originals. Oh and it never fails that my selection on iTunes is the $1.29 ‘it’s a hit’ price.

    • Haha my brother is awesome, but I would be slightly worried if he started rocking out to Disney songs the way I do…

      I am so iTunes deprived. I haven’t had a working computer that I could put my music on, so it’s been a while since I bought any. So sad!

  2. Haha I adore that you included pic of NSYNC-that was first concert I ever went to!!!

  3. umm I’m right there with you…I LOVE all the music you listed and I am not ashamed!! haha

Leave a comment